Left Coast Crime Unconvention January 27th — Free

On February 27, 2021, Left Coast Crime will present four virtual panels to introduce the 2021 Lefty Award Nominees and their books.

This Zoom Webinar is free, but advance registration is requiredLeft Coast Crime registrants are the first to receive the news about this event.

Registration Link[Note: Left Coast Crime is charged for each registration.]

Schedule for the Day

Introduction: Left Coast Crime and the Lefty Awards (15 minutes)
8:30 AM PT, 9:30  MT, 10:30  CT, 11:30 ET

Nominees for the Lefty Award for Best Debut Novel (60 minutes)
     8:45 PT, 9:45 MT, 10:45 CT, 11:45 ET

Nominees for the Lefty Award for Best Novel  (60 minutes)
    10:00 AM PT, 11:00 MT, Noon CT, 1:00 PM ET

Nominees for the Lefty Award for Best Historical Novel (60 minutes)
    11:15 AM PT, 12:15 PM MT, 1:15 CT, 2:15 ET

Nominees for the Lefty Award for Best Humorous Novel (60 minutes)
    12:30 PM PT, 1:30 MT, 2:30 CT, 3:30 ET


2021 Lefty Award Nominees

Lefty Nominees for Best Humorous Mystery Novel

  • Ellen Byron, Murder in the Bayou Boneyard (Crooked Lane Books)
  • Jennifer J. Chow, Mimi Lee Gets a Clue (Berkley Prime Crime)
  • Carl Hiaasen, Squeeze Me (Alfred A. Knopf)
  • Cynthia Kuhn, The Study of Secrets (Henery Press)
  • J. Michael Orenduff, The Pot Thief Who Studied the Woman at Otowi Crossing (Aakenbaaken & Kent)
  • Sung J. Woo, Skin Deep (Agora Books)

Lefty Nominees for Best Historical Mystery Novel for books set before 1970

  • Susanna Calkins, The Fate of a Flapper (Minotaur Books)
  • Dianne Freeman, A Lady’s Guide to Mischief and Murder (Kensington Books)
  • Laurie R. King, Riviera Gold (Bantam Books)
  • Catriona McPherson, The Turning Tide (Quercus)
  • Ann Parker, Mortal Music (Poisoned Pen Press)
  • James W. Ziskin, Turn to Stone (Seventh Street Books)

Lefty Nominees for Best Debut Mystery Novel

  • Daisy Bateman, Murder Goes to Market (Seventh Street Books)
  • Mary Keliikoa, Derailed (Camel Press)
  • Erica Ruth Neubauer, Murder at the Mena House (Kensington Books)
  • Richard Osman, The Thursday Murder Club (Viking)
  • Halley Sutton, The Lady Upstairs (Putnam)
  • David Heska Wanbli Weiden, Winter Counts (Ecco)

Lefty Nominees for Best Mystery Novel (not in other categories)

  • Tracy Clark, What You Don’t See (Kensington Books)
  • S.A. Cosby, Blacktop Wasteland (Flatiron Books)
  • Matt Coyle, Blind Vigil (Oceanview Publishing)
  • Rachel Howzell Hall, And Now She’s Gone (Forge)
  • Louise Penny, All the Devils Are Here (Minotaur Books)

Lucinda Surber & Stan Ulrich, Lefty Awards Co-Chairs